Fourth CERN-Fermilab Hadron Collider Physics Summer School
Home Programme General information Participants Social programme Internal (LOC)

Fourth School - Official Announcement


At the present time, experiments at Hadron Colliders provide our best vision into physics at the TeV scale. The Fermilab Tevatron is currently exploring the electroweak scale, and has collected several inverse femtobarns of data, with more to come in the near future. At the same time, the LHC is getting ready for its first physics run, and for the beginning of a new era in the exploration of the smallest scales.

To realize the full potential of these developments, CERN and Fermilab are jointly offering a series of "Hadron Collider Physics Summer Schools", to prepare young researchers for these exciting times. In the past three editions, the school took place at Fermilab in 2006, at CERN in 2007 and again at Fermilab in 2008. The fourth edition will return to CERN, and will take place in the period 8-17 June 2009, at a time of great excitement in view of the final preparations for the start of the LHC.

The CERN-Fermilab Hadron Collider Physics Summer School is targeted particularly at young postdocs in experimental High Energy Physics (HEP), as well as senior PhD students in HEP phenomenology, working towards the completion of their thesis project. Other schools, such as the CERN European School of High Energy Physics, may provide more appropriate training for students in experimental HEP who are still working towards their PhDs.

Calendar and Details

Mark your calendar for June 8-17 2009, when CERN will welcome students to the fourth CERN-Fermilab Hadron Collider Physics Summer School. The School will include ten days of lectures and discussions, with one free day in the middle of the period. Scholarship funds will be available to support some participants. Updated information and online applications will be available at the school web site: The deadline for applications and reference letters is February 21st, 2009.

Local Organizing Committee

Albert de Roeck (Co-Chairman), CERN
James Wells (Co-Chairman), CERN
Nick Ellis, CERN
Stefano Frixione, CERN and EPFL
Christos Leonidopoulos, CERN
Patricia Mage, CERN
Andreas Morsch, CERN
Tara Shears, Liverpool
Thorsten Wengler, Manchester

International Advisory Committee

Michelangelo Mangano (Co-Chairman), CERN
Bogdan Dobrescu (Co-Chairman), Fermilab
Fabiola Gianotti, CERN
Jean-François Grivaz, LAL-Orsay
Ian Hinchliffe, LBNL
Olivier Schneider, EPFL Lausanne
Mel Shochet, Chicago
Paris Sphicas, Athens and CERN
Avi Yagil, USC San Diego


| Copyright | Contact Us | Last Updated:December 04, 2009